Skip to main content

Dear users and visitors,


this website has been migrated to a new one hosted by EURO.

Please, visit our new website for updated contents:

Soon this website will be not available anymore.


VeRoLog team


EURO Excellence in Practice Award 2016

This is an invitation for Authors to submit a paper for the above award.


The purposes of the competition are to:

recognise outstanding accomplishments in the practice of Operational Research,
attract more application-oriented papers to EURO-k Conferences,
promote the practice of Operational Research in general.

All interested authors are invited to submit a detailed description of an application of Operational Research which has original features, whether in methodology, application or implementation. This may be in the form of a paper written for publication (although not necessarily published at the time of submission), a client report, or other appropriate documentation. The documentation must describe the work in a way which illustrates how it meets the criteria outlined below. The age limit for published papers is four years. The work must not have been submitted concurrently to another competition. The application is open to Operational Research specialists from any part of the world.


The criteria for the evaluation of the papers are:

-real impact on practice,
-scientific quality,
-relevance to Operational Research,
-appreciation by the organisation involved with the application,
-originality in methodology, implementations and/ or field of application.

Letters of appreciation are important.


The jury selects a short-list of finalists who will present their work in a special session of the 28th European Conference on Operational Research in Poznań. There is no registration fee for one author of each of the finalist presentations. The winner will be determined by the jury at the end of the special session and will be announced by the chairman of the jury during the closing session of the EURO 2016 Conference.


The prize for the winners is a distinct honour, and in material terms consists of:

a certificate of excellence in OR practice for each author of the paper,
an amount of €3,000 shared between the authors.


Ton G. de Kok (The Netherlands) - chair
Ulrich Dorndorf (Germany)
Erik Demeulemeester (Belgium)
Marco Laumanns (Switzerland)
Markus Bohlin (Sweden)


Please submit the material online on before January 31, 2016.