Skip to main content

Dear users and visitors,


this website has been migrated to a new one hosted by EURO.

Please, visit our new website for updated contents:

Soon this website will be not available anymore.


VeRoLog team


Verolog Doctoral Dissertation Prize

The VeRoLog Doctoral Dissertation Prize (VeRoLog DDP) is issued by the EURO working group on Vehicle Routing and Logistics optimization (VeRoLog) and is awarded at each VeRoLog annual conference. The purpose of the prize is to distinguish an outstanding PhD thesis on Operational Research methods applied to the Vehicle Routing and Logistics Optimization.

The VeRoLog DDP jury will only consider PhD theses in Operational Research defended between January, 1st and December, 31st of the preceding year. Nominations are NOT restricted to members of societies that belong to EURO.

To be considered, a dissertation should be nominated by the supervisor of the thesis (one of them in case of multiple supervisors).

The call for nomination for the current year is available here


Past Awardees

VeRoLog DDP 2012 was awarded to Bjorn Petersen in Bologna, June 18th, 2012. Chair of the Jury was Paolo Toth.

VeRoLog DDP 2013 was awarded ex-aequo to Roberto Roberti and Thibaut Vidal in Southampton, July 8th, 2013. Chair of the Jury was Angel Corberan.

VeRoLog DDP 2014 was awarded to Magnus Stalhane in Oslo, June 25th, 2014. Chair of the Jury was Frederic Semet.

VeRoLog DDP 2015 was awarded to Timo Gschwind in Vienna, June 6th, 2015, Chair of the Jury was Richard Eglese.

VeRoLog DDP 2016 was awarded to Jorgen Haar in Nantes, June 8th, 2016, Chair of the Jury was Stefan Irnich.